Spotify is the main source of music streaming industry. It has 7 million paid subscribers and 159 million users using the free version.
Other music streaming platforms like Apple and Amazon music are also great due to which some people are switching from Spotify to these services. To attract larger audiences, Spotify has launched a new free version. Previously, Spotify had just two versions i.e. free but ad-supported tier and one with $9.99 for no ads. The paid one offers you to download songs to listen offline without any restriction whereas in the free version, you cannot download songs. The newly launched version enables you to listen songs from discover playlists. If all these features are still not satisfying you and you want to delete your Spotify account permanently then follow these instructions:
How to Delete Spotify Account?
If you are using the Spotify premium account, cancel the subscription before you delete your account. When you end your subscription, all the saved playlists and the music you downloaded to listen offline will be removed. You will no longer have access to Spotify music. But if you just unsubscribe and do not delete your account then you can listen to your stored music. You can play music from all the playlists even in offline mode too. Your username will be removed immediately after deleting the account. If you were availing student discount, it will be ended too and it will not be applicable to any other account for a whole year.
Once your subscription is canceled, follow the below-mentioned steps to delete Spotify account permanently:
Step 1: Go to contact Spotify support page: https://support.spotify.com/contact-spotify-support/ and if not signed in, then sign in your Spotify profile.
Step 2: Select the category of “Account“.
Step 3: Click on “I want to close my account permanently” then this page will redirect to the next step.
Step 4: Click on “Close Account“, after which you’ll not be able to access that username in Spotify. Your saved music, followers and playlist will be deleted immediately.
Step 5: Click on “Close Button“.
Step 6: You will see your Playlists, followers and your following. Now, click on “Continue button“.
Step 7: Tick the “I understand, and still want to close my account” option.
Step 8: After selecting the option click on “Continue” button.
Step 9: After Pressing the “Continue button” you’ll receive a verification email. If you didn’t receive an email, check in spam folder.
Step 10: Open Spotify “Confirmation Email“.
Final Step: Click on “Close My Account” Button.
You will see the message. Now, your account is closed.
Some important things to keep in mind
While deleting your Spotify account, be aware of some things:
- Your old username will be removed and you will not be able to make a new account with the same username.
- Your saved playlist over the years will be gone permanently.
- You cannot recover the deleted data at all.
- Your following list of people through the years will be lost.